Posted by: darcymullin | November 6, 2011

Checking in on my Professional Growth Plan


At the beginning of the year, I blogged about my professional growth plan for the year.  We are almost 1/4 of the way through the year, so I thought it was time  to revisit my goals and track my learning to date.

Here are my original goals and my learning to date.

  1. Improve my transparency – I am making progress.  I have done subtle things, for instance included my cell #, twitter handle and all contact info in my email signature.  I have also created a school facebook page.  Thanks for the inspiration Chris Wejr.  I understand that part of transparency is trust, and developing trust takes time.  My work on this goal is ongoing.  Involvement in our school’s book study on Dr. Ross Greene’s book Lost in School, will give me an opportunity to listen to others perspective on struggling students and also share some of my values and beliefs.
  2. Listen – While I cannot cite any specific examples of things I have done, upon reflection I can think in general I need to listen more.  Being in a new school, asking questions and listening to the answers is the key to understanding context and culture.  I need to ask more questions to develop a better understanding of school culture.
  3. Become More Math literate – I can honestly say that I have not made any progress toward this goal.  It is something that I will need to make a priority in the coming months.
  4. Go Deeper into Personalized Learning – this is definitley a work in progress.  I continue to explore Project Based Learning in the classes I teach, here is one example.  I think my biggest move has been to personalized assessment, to read more check out my post on Authentic Assessment.
  5. Integrate Technology – I have continued to read, blog and learn and I am learning more about technology, but I have not progressed at all in  my application of technology.  That said, our school and some of  colleagues are engaging in meaningful dialogue with our district partners about improving the technology in our schools.   While our district has amazing infrastructure, not much of that has trickled down to the end users in elementary schools.  We are working to change that.
  6. Enjoy Every Minute – for those of us working in BC, it has been a difficult fall and to be honest I think things will get worse before they get better.  However, I have been enjoying my year.  I appreciate the things I can control and don’t stress about the things beyond my control.  I am appreciative of our school, our community and the professional learning that our staff continues to model.  Things may get more tense, so continuing to focus on the positive will be very important in the coming months.

That’s it for now.  I will check in and re-evaluate at the in a few months.

Responses

  1. Excellent to see this level of reflection with your professional learning. If alright, I’m going to share this as a practical example with my education students, who have crafted their own Professional Growth Plans for their first practicum in schools. Thanks Darcy – great model for reflection for all of us!

    • Hi Kurtis,

      Thank you for your kind words and feedback. Share away!

  2. Darcy
    You beat me to the punch – believe it or not I was going to send a you message this week to see your growth plan is going (seriously) . Now you’ve answered my question. As always, I appreciate how you mode being a “reflective practitioner.”

    Johnny

  3. Thanks Johnny, I appreciate the feedback. I am finding that blogging about it keeps me focused and purposeful in my learning. For intstance, I really have not been thinking about Math much. I have been thinking about how I might work on this deficit.

  4. Excellent to see this level of reflection with your professional learning. If alright, I’m going to share this as a practical example with my education students, who have crafted their own Professional Growth Plans for their first practicum in schools. Thanks Darcy – great model for reflection for all of us!
    +1

    • Thank you for your kind words. By all means share with whomever you like.

  5. Nice reflection Darcy. It’s great that you’ve included a math goal. When I was doing my B.Ed, many of my classmates claimed that they “weren’t a math person.” A little bit of me died everytime I heard that 😉

    • That comment drives me crazy. Could you get away with saying, “I’m not really a reading person”. It has been about 6 years since I have taught Math and when I did the focus was on the outcome (answer) not the process. That is not the case now.

  6. […] for parents to use to contact me via calls or text messaging.  (Thanks to Chris Kennedy and Darcy Mullin for the encouragement). I am also available through email, my direct line, and Skype (for those […]

  7. […] I set out a professional growth plan for myself.  Part way through the year I what I felt was good progress, but I was really struggling with one area – Math Literacy.  The school I moved to this year […]

  8. […] is my third check in.  You can read my original post here and the other updates here and […]

  9. […] and kept me focused throughout the year.  You can read my original post and the other updateshere and here and […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

