Posted by: darcymullin | June 28, 2012

Irreplaceable?


Today is the  last day of school and I am beginning to reflect on the year that was.  I didn’t blog as much as I would have liked to, but I plan to be more active this summer. I learned a lot this year and I look forward to reflecting on it the over the next couple of months.  Last night I was thinking about passion, dedication and their importance in education.

Today…

Today is the last day for two amazing educators at our school…they have chosen to retire.  I have only worked with them a short time, but I was lucky enough to have my children learn and grow in their classrooms.  I want to take this opportunity to recognize them and appreciate all they have brought to the profession.  I know the choice to leave was difficult for both and I think both feel that they still have something to offer the field of education, but neither is exactly sure what the next phase of their learning is going to look like.

Both teachers are similar in their dedication to the profession and most importantly their students. I know they are both looking at tomorrow with mixed emotions – saying goodbye to their students and then to our staff for the very last time is going to be extremely difficult. Relationships matter.

Our system is going through large-scale changes and potentially turbulent times and in some ways it worries me. The experience we are losing will be impossible to replace.   How do we account for the gap in learning and knowledge? Our school has many amazing educators, but wisdom and experience only come with time and their knowledge and wisdom will be dearly missed.  However,  change does give others an opportunity to move to the forefront.

Bettty-Ann (BettyAnnX11), I will miss your tireless committment to learning and innovation.  I have appreciated the short time we have had together  and  thankful that I had an opportunity to learn from you.  I am looking forward to subscribing to the blog that I hope you find the time to start.

Marian, I am going to miss your spirit around the school.  Your committment to your students was second  to none.  I know how you wrestled with this decision, but I know it was the right one for you.  I know I will see you again, maybe as early as next year working with students who need it the most.

It has been a pleasure to work with true professionals who epitomize all that is great in our profession and have me reflecting on the importance of passion and dedication. I wish you all the best in the next phase of your life.

Now, the process of sorting through 30 years of resources begins :-).

Responses

  1. Wow, Darcy, what a lovely thing to read on my last day of teaching. I also wish we could have worked together longer, but it’s time for a life change. But you’re right, education and learning is in my blood and I will still be in touch! (Watch this space!)

    • I will be wathcing. Is it too early to subscribe?


Leave a Reply

Categories

